1 minutes readOn The Cardinal Virtues

Reader Mode Text to speech

Back to the Catechism of St Pius X Menu


On The Cardinal Virtues

56 Q. Name the Cardinal Virtues.
A. The Cardinal Virtues are Prudence, Justice, Fortitude and Temperance.

57 Q. Why are Prudence, Justice, Fortitude and Temperance called Cardinal virtues?
A. Prudence, Justice, Fortitude and Temperance are called cardinal virtues because all the moral virtues are founded and hinged around them. (in Latin, cardo means hinge)

58 Q. What is Prudence?
A. Prudence is the virtue that directs each action towards its lawful end and consequently seeks the proper means in order that the action be well accomplished in all points of view and thereby pleasing to Our Lord.

59 Q. What is Justice?
A. Justice is the virtue which disposes us to give everyone what belongs to him.

60 Q. What is Fortitude?
A. Fortitude is the virtue which renders us courageous to the point of not fearing danger, not even death, for the service of God.

61 Q. What is temperance?
A. Temperance disposes us to control the inordinate desires that please the senses and makes us use temporal goods with moderation.